Mobile Menu

Far Cry 6: Lost Between Worlds Review

Far Cry 6: Lost Between Worlds

Release: December 5, 2022
Publisher: Ubisoft
Developer: Ubisoft
Genre: PlayStation 5 Reviews, PS5 Reviews, ReviewsXbox Series X Reviews


Worth a Play About Rating
8.0 - Gameplay
7.0 - Video
7.0 - Audio

Over the past year I have played ALOT of Far Cry 6 and considering it’s one of my favorite franchises I don’t see that as a bad thing. Having beaten the core game, and all three DLCs packages from the season pass that focused on previous villains in a rouge like game definitely was a twist that was interesting and fun, but ultimately kind of wore out its welcome by the time I finished the last one. With Lost Between Worlds…it’s kind of different, and kind of not….

In this DLC you take back control of the main character Dani Rojas, after the events of Far Cry 6 you are hanging out on the beach when all of a sudden, a meteor crashes in Yara. As you explore you become entrapped with an alien creature known as Fai. Since the only ways out are either waiting hundreds of years for back up or jumping into various rifts to collect shards to rebuild the meteor, you decide to go out and collect some shards.


This is where things become a little familiar, the rogue elements. As you start your quest your rift (basically a fantastical twisted Yara) which is a self-contained level with two exits a red one and a blue one.

As you make your way through the various rifts you will eventually collect a shard and be brought back to Fai (who will give you a boost, gear and equipment) and you dive back in and take a different route until you have explored all options and collected all shards.

Now, each rift also has a specific gimmick to it whether it be dodging lightning strike, stumbling through pitch darkness, or swimming underwater rushing to air pockets in order to breathe.

As you progress through these levels you also collect glints that will save you if you happen to die, it can bring you back to life at the same level so you do not lose your progress and gear. Each time you start a loop again, whether by collecting a shard or dying and not having enough glints to resurrect you lose all your weapons and progress on that run.

There isn’t a huge amount of weapons in this loop because of that, you do get to experience using each weapon that you get as you don’t have the full arsenal at your disposal all of the time. The enemies however are more like crystalized humans (and animals) that are either Red or Blue.

No real idea why they added this to the game but basically you have to switch your ammo to the color of the enemies in order to hurt them. This is done on the fly with a singular press of a button, so not sure why they felt the need to shoehorn us like that but they did.


The game is a lot more fun than the previous DLCs due to the humorous story beats and basically Dani as a character. The other DLCs focused on the villains therefore weren’t as lighthearted as this one. If you just forget about how ridiculous this all is, it can be alot of fun to explore Yara in a new way. If anything, I applaud Ubisoft’s recent long-term support of their games and willingness to try something new and different.



Article By

blank Kevin Austin has been in gaming journalism in one way or another since the launch of the Nintendo Gamecube. Married and father of 3 children he has been gaming since the ripe age of 6 when he got his first NES system and over 30 years later he is still gaming almost daily. Kevin is also co-founder of the Play Some Video Games (PSVG) Podcast network which was founded over five years ago and is still going strong. Some of his favorite gaming series includes Fallout and Far Cry, he is a sucker for single player adventure games (hence his big reviews for Playstation), and can frequently be found getting down in one battle royale or another. If it's an oddball game, odds are he's all about it.

Follow on:
Twitter: @PSVGKevin